I’m grateful 5/52

After a pretty hellish week at the coal face of parenting very small children, I suddenly arrive at Sunday and feel utterly at peace with my lot. Probably something to do with the fact that Sunday is our Saturday due to my husband’s work, so this is the start of our weekend. Plus, I got to go out and have my Me Time – a Metaqua class followed by an Ethiopian curry at the market followed by a proper coffee and a short stroll around the mall…all ALONE, gloriously alone :)

I’m grateful for my chunk of Me Time. Keeps me from descent into complete FT SAHM lunacy – today I shall just peer at it from afar.

I’m grateful that I get to live in a small town with a big cultural mix. Ethiopian curry at the market followed by coffee picked up at the new European-style deli/cafe today. I can have the best Thai food I’ve ever had outside of Thailand anytime, too. Oh and Vietnamese spring rolls. Indian butter chicken. German bratwurst. This is not a big place by most people’s standards, I think the population including outlying areas is only about 70,000. No Starbucks, no Myers etc. (thankfully!) Small enough that I can have a chat with the Ethiopian lady that made my curry, and bump into a friend while I’m eating it; small enough to have a good talk about cheese with the deli owner’s daughter and to know that every time I go into town chances are I’ll run into someone I know. But still with so very much to offer besides!

I’m grateful that my body is healthy and getting stronger by the day. I walked over 130k in January and I’m aiming for 150k in February. I’m grateful that I have legs that work, unsightly with thread veins though they are! I’d go bonkers if I didn’t exercise. I need the time out and the endorphins! I’m grateful that my husband supports me practically in my efforts to feel empowered and strong via daily exercise.

I’m grateful for my smartphone. I recently discovered the joys of Endomondo via a girlfriend and a group of us mums are doing monthly walking challenges. So motivating and also a lot of fun!

I am grateful for my lovely group of mummy friends and the way we support each other in our efforts to get and stay fit and healthy, and to bring up fit and healthy children.

I’m grateful for the many fabulous connections I’m making in the online world via blogging and Facebook pages. I am learning so much about health, happiness, motherhood, womanhood, possibilties, other worlds, other people’s experiences…

Today is a bloody good day. I’m grateful for that. And it’s not over yet!

I’m linking in with 52 Weeks of Grateful hosted by Maxabella

8 responses

  1. Pam, your gratefuls just made me feel very happy. And nothing beats a good curry, that’s for sure xx

    1. Oh that is nice to hear :) And yes, nothing beats a good curry! New one for me as well, very spicy but not in Thai / Indian way which is what am used to. Will def be going back to try something else!

  2. homelifesimplified | Reply

    fabulous list of things to be grateful for and i love your me time choices. had to click through to metaqua – sounds like an updated aqua aerobics – get to cool in the water yet work your butt off

    1. Glad you liked it Deb. Off to do my #Listmania now, better late than never :) Done an Aquazumba this week too, exercise in water perfect for post preg. I’ve been having a lot of fun shakin’ that mama ass :)

  3. Hey Pam – awesome post this week! I too am an exercise junky and go a little ‘nuts’ if I don’t get my share in. Endo is awesome – I love it – I must start tracking how many km’s I’m doing a month! Sending positive vibes your way to continue the awesome week you had!

    1. Thanks Sharon :) Hope you have had a good week also. I actually had 2 very good days in a row. Yowza!! ;)

  4. Reading your posts brings me happiness. Thank you.

    1. Oh, that is so nice to read! I am glad :) X

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

