Wake Up Call

My daughter is a very early riser. This morning she woke just before 5am and simply would not be persuaded that this hour is ungodly, so by 5.20 my husband had decamped to the spare room (his turn today) and I was trying to prise my eyes open while Miss M sat bolt upright on my tummy, thumb in mouth, swinging her little legs expectantly, waiting for this wonderful new day to begin. There are a so many mummy blogs and books in which women talk about grasping the early mornings with both hands and rejoicing in the extra hours in the day. I’ve made a couple of half-hearted attempts to do the same but in the end just figured that these women are a breed apart, and I will never be one of them. Usually I plonk Miss M in front of a DVD at this time, while I lie on the sofa lamenting my lot and praying that the day will soon come when she sleeps until some glorious hour, like say 7am. No more!!!  I peeled the cabbage leaves from my crop top (nobody tells you bad things can happen after you finish breastfeeding!),  got us both dressed, gave Miss M some milk and yogurt, and by 6.30am we were standing by the creek watching the sun rise over the Pacific Ocean. It is hard to feel resentful about being up very early in the morning when so much of the world is clearly up and at ’em already! The market stalls were setting up, the first stage of a triathalon event was underway and the path was buzzing with early morning walkers, yet still peaceful. The air smelled fresh and the day felt full of promise. I actually felt quite emotional – we live in such a beautiful part of the world, and watching the sun rise over the Pacific Ocean with my little girl in the calm of early morning, how could I not feel grateful and more than content? 4.4k later (thank you Cardio Trainer) we were back at the Surf Club ordering coffee before having a play on the beach. Instead of watching Disney, my daughter had met birds and dogs and people, felt the wind in her hair and shouted at the waves, and learned how to trap a leaf between her toes and carry it there. What better way to start a day in the life of a mindful mum?

One response

  1. Beautiful post – I love the conclusion. Perhaps we all need to start the day in similar fashion, as much as our immediate environment permits!

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

