Action for Happiness

A good friend of mine shared a link an organisation called Action for Happiness this morning. Very cool! I too pledge to try to create more happiness and less unhappiness in the world around me!

When I was little and I had to make a wish, I always, always wished to be happy. I don’t know if that was because I was very unhappy as a child, which saddens me. Regardless, as an adult I have no doubt that happiness really is what matters in life, and that it doesn’t come from money, status or amassing large quantities of material things. When I had my really low point in my twenties I read a book by the Dalai Lama called The Art of Happiness and I remember it really helped me. As the Dalai Lama says, “Happiness is not something ready made. It comes from your own actions”.

Happiness as a theme seems to be crossing my path all over the place recently! This cute poster (quote by Yogi Bhajan, source of illustration alas unknown) was shared by another friend just yesterday on their Facebook wall. Yet another friend shared a link to a great little article called 7 Must-Read Books on the Art and Science of Happiness with me, just last week – I’m not surprised to see The Art of Happiness is in there! Just as well I’m not the paranoid type or I’d think everyone was trying to tell me something! I think I just have happy friends with great life values 🙂

And in just 7 sleeps this trying-to-be-mindful mum is off to Sydney for the 2012 Happiness & Its Causes 2 day conference!! I was lucky enough to win the tickets from Lifeline and I am SO excited, both for the content but also because I am going to be in the Big Smoke for 3 days all by myself. It’s the first time I’ve ever been away from my daughter, and my first night apart from my husband in years. Am I a bad wife and mother to admit in all honesty that I can’t wait to be ALONE? I think not! I know I’m going to miss them but I know they’re going to be just fine, and I also know that my little independent trip to the city is going to do me a world of good. And as we all know, happy mama = happy family, and vice versa!

2 responses

  1. Happiness comes from within.

    1. Agreed! Thanks for visiting The Mindful Mum 🙂

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

