Leaving on a Jet Plane!

My bags are (almost) packed and I’m (almost) ready to go! Slight panic caused by weather report last night sharing the wonderful news that Sydney is about to experience its worst weather in 30 years, with heavy rain, thunderstorms and flash flooding in metropolitan areas, starting today and lasting for the whole 3 days I am there. Whatever happens, I will be all alone, which is the whole fabulous point (well, that and attending the conference!) so the rotten weather in itself isn’t the end of the world. However, having lived in a subtropical small town uniform of shorts, t-shirts and thongs flipflops (nope, I tried but I am still too British) for so long I was thrown into a quandary about what to pack for these adverse conditions. Thus I have spent an hour this morning trying to squeeze into clothes more suitable for a chilly (20C!) climate and wet city streets i.e. things I haven’t worn in eons and which appear to have (ahem) shrunk in the wash.

So, I have now cobbled together a couple of outfits which I hope are worthy of a two day conference  that costs $1,100 (and that’s just the basic tickets, not the upgraded ones and not including the workshops). Yup, you read that correctly. I am not paying for the tickets, I won them, or I most certainly would not be able to go. So, lucky me! I have been wondering what kind of person has that amount of money to spend on learning to be happy though, and I guess I am about to find out. Indeed, the cost of the conference has attracted some criticism in the media. Just found an ABC article  in which some very valid points are raised, and I’m looking forward to reading through all the comments.

But now, I have to finish packing, cuddle cuddle cuddle my girly, and then Mama is off to the airport. I’ll see you in Sydney!

2 responses

  1. I think I have the same washer as you !

    Have a safe and enjoyable journey !

    1. Thanks Paula! Journey down was uneventful if very very wet but I’m not letting the continuing rain dampen my spirits & have very much enjoyed the first day of the conference (https://themindfulmum.wordpress.com/2012/03/01/happiness-conference-day1/ ) Thanks for visiting The Mindful Mum 🙂

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

