Mama & The City, Part 1

The weather here in Sydney is atrocious but it is of little concern! I’m staying in a nice little hotel on Cremorne Point and after an easy journey via train and ferry from the airport I took myself out for an excellent massaman curry (best I’ve had outside of Thailand) and then went to a beautician on the spur of the moment and had my eyebrows waxed and shaped. Unheard of in recent years! I feel fab! Despite getting absolutely drenched on my walk up to the shops and back, it was lovely to see all the old (by Aussie standards) brick and tile houses, which brought to mind the old British colonial homes I saw in northern Burma.

Was just about to post this when a family with young children arrived in the room next door. Oh. My. God. Nightmare!! Fortunately I was able to change rooms which was a pain in the ass at that point in the evening but there’s no way I’m spending my child free time listening to someone else’s kids squawking!! Then spent first five minutes in the new room listening to the woman next door screaming blue bloody murder down the phone. Thankfully, all is now quiet and long may it continue!

Tomorrow’s conference topics are:

  • HAPPINESS – IN YOUR HANDS
  • HAPPINESS & A MEANINGFUL LIFE
  • THE UPSIDE OF DOWN
  • HAPPINESS, MEANING & WORK

Really looking forward! I shall be up very early as registration is at 8am and I have to catch the ferry back across the water and then make my way up to the Town Hall via Starbucks, which has not yet made it into Regional NSW, so I need to go every day while I am here. Obviously 🙂

Grim skies in Sydney!

2 responses

  1. I am soooooooo jealous! I would love to go to this conference, I’ve been wanting to go for years. One day I will get there. Perhaps I should start making plans for next year.
    Have an awesome day.

    1. Thanks! Day 1 was great, I just posted a little bit about it here : https://themindfulmum.wordpress.com/2012/03/01/happiness-conference-day1/ Thanks for visiting The Mindful Mum 🙂

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

