Grateful for…

Last night I came across a small, online community dedicated to living a beautiful, grateful life. Each week, members of this group simply reflect on and share something for which they are grateful. The concept is very much in keeping with my personal journey this year so I’m very happy and excited to be involved with both the group and the associated blog linky, which is hosted by Maxabella. I plan to be thankful on Thursdays from now on 😉

This week’s theme is Memories.

I am grateful… that although so much else has faded in the 15 years since his passing, I have very clear memories of my little brother’s awesome smile.

I am grateful… that although I’m still saddened by my post c-section haze where I believe I missed some precious bonding with my baby girl, I do have memories of the first days at home when I would watch her sleeping, and then go into the other room and look at photographs of her, before going back and watching her sleep…I just couldn’t get enough of her and the love I felt for her then, which has grown every day since, brings tears to my eyes.

And I am eternally grateful… for my memories of the 7 months of backpacking my husband and I shared in Southeast Asia immediately prior to conceiving our little girl. She has rocked our free world on so many levels and sometimes those memories were all that kept me going through the darker days of extreme martital tension brought on by the worst and most torturous sleep-deprivation I have ever known!

We are now planning our return to Southeast Asia as a family 🙂

You have no cause for anything but gratitude and joy ~ Buddha

14 responses

  1. Welcome to Maxabella Loves weeks of grateful. Precious memories there. so nice that even in trying times you manage to focus on the postive of the situation, like a smile, or peacefulness of sleeping.

    1. Thanks for the welcome Mandy. I love the whole concept of 52 Weeks of Grateful. Taking deliberate time out every week to really focus on the good stuff is an excellent way to stay positive & appreciative even when the sh*t’s hit the fan! Another idea is to list 3 good things that happened during the day, every evening. I’m working on that one 🙂

  2. Welcome, it’s so good to see you here! Your gratefuls are very thought provoking – I so well remember the sleep-deprivation (indeed, it is still going on for me in a small way) and being so grateful that our marriage is strong enough to survive anything!!

    A remembered smile is a beautiful thing indeed. x

    1. Thank you for the lovely welcome! No sleep deprivation here atm, for which I am also grateful… but I know better than to become complacent 😉

  3. I remember that post baby blur. It was horrible after my son was born. I am glad you had some wonderful memories that helped you get by. It sure is hard!

    1. I like your honesty – yup sometimes it was all quite frankly horrible! 🙂 Thanks for visiting The Mindful Mum. I am off to check out Blackheart Betty…X

  4. Ahh lovely – I’m grateful for my daughter this week too. She just turned six-months. Glad you found Maxabella. And btw – I love your line about trying not to swear too much, I wrote a post about that earlier this week!
    x

    1. I just read it. LOL! I am worst in the car…bad mama…working on it tho! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  5. Ah beautiful memories to cherish and be grateful for xx

    1. Yup indeed 🙂 Off to check out Lipgloss Mumma…thanks for visiting, MM x

  6. Glad to ‘meet’ you through the link-up. I’m grateful that the sleep deprivation passes, eventually!

    1. “I blog instead of housework” LOL
      Pleased to meet you too, & thanks for stopping by 🙂

  7. I’m with you on sleep deprivation challenging relationships, thank goodness for good memories. We had a trip around Australia before our last one and it still keeps me smiling.

    1. Love love travel memories! Thanks for visiting The Mindful Mum… I have just opened Bowerbird Blue, off to have a look 🙂

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

