Grateful for…books

I love reading! At the time I backpacked in Southeast Asia, there was no such thing as an accessible Kindle-type device, so I used to carry at least four books at all times out of fear that I’d run out of reading material. That’s quite a few extra kilos in an already heavy load, but to me it was absolutely essential! Nowadays, I always have three or four books on my bedside table. I can’t imagine a world without books to escape into and learn from. I’d feel utterly bereft!

  • I’m grateful…that my parents taught me to love and respect books.
  • I’m grateful…that I’ve been lucky enough to have experienced a fantastic education, where my love of books and learning was allowed to evolve and flourish over a great many years.
  • I’m grateful…that libraries in this country are free and accessible to all; and that my little girl at just 18 months old is encouraged by our lovely librarians to hand over her own library card after we’ve chosen her books, so that her love of books can start before she’s even read a word herself. That said, we are considering a Steiner education for Miss M, so I am actually currently researching the benefits of her not learning to read until she is about 8 years old. Which, in a world that promotes “My Baby Can Read” DVDs for 4 month olds, is quite a controversial concept. And it’s a tough one for a mama that loves reading as much as this one to get her head around! However, my (completely Steiner-educated) husband didn’t learn to read until he was 8 and it doesn’t seem to have done him any harm…

I feel quite a few Steiner posts coming up! Does your child go to a Steiner School? Do you know any Steiner families?

Receive the child with gratitude
Educate them with love
Let them go forth in freedom.

~Rudolf Steiner~

This post is part of the 52 Weeks of Grateful link-up hosted by Maxabella Loves 

13 responses

  1. Totally agree with you about books!
    I remember carrying books round Europe and them tearing them apart to share and lighten the load!!
    I couldn’t have stopped my eldest from reading before 8 if I’d tried

    1. Hi Ally, love the name of your blog 🙂 Mmm the not reading until 8 is a very difficult one to grasp, unless like my husband you just think it’s normal and don’t question it. Apparently they end up at the same level as their peers very quickly, it’s just a different learning path. I’m not concerned about the long term academic side of it, it’s more about what we would do in the unlikely event that we had to move somewhere that didn’t have a Steiner school, and we had a kid that couldn’t read when all her peers learned years before, and the impact on her. But, that in itself isn’t a good enough reason to deny her what is potentially a fantastic opportunity…anyways, we are meeting with the principal in coming weeks, and meantime my research continues.

      The Mindful Mum welcomes and encourages Steiner discussion 🙂

  2. I was exactly the same when we were travelling. We (husbie, then boyf) and I had one backpack full of books and the other with our clothes, etc. We were terrified of being stuck on an overnight train and not having any reading material! Nowadays I would embrace the Kindle for travel purposes without hesitation (but I still prefer paper, I can’t help myself!) x

    1. I understand that fear but my husband doesn’t share it, so he never understood my need to lug so many “unnecessary” kilos around! If I was going to backpack long term again (well, I can dream lol), I think I’d like to try a kindle, I’ve heard great things about it….but at heart I know I’m one of those people who will always prefer the he real McCoy!

  3. I am exactly like you and always have 3-5 books on my bedside table – for 6 weeks i have a new morning routine that includes coffee and a book before i get up and start the day – I am loving not waiting until late evening to read when i am usually tired…

    1. Oh yes, I too have been getting 20 minutes first thing in morning with a cuppa recently – bliss! But lately I am of two minds, as it is only really possible if my daughter watches some TV, which I’m not that keen on as she is only 18mo – and of which Steiner also disapproves 🙂

  4. I love books too! I usually have 2 or 3 on the go at the same time. I like my e-reader, but I prefer old-fashioned books.

  5. ohh i love books! Nothing better then a good read and just a quiet place to read! If only there were more hours in the day to do so!

  6. Totally agree. I don’t go anywhere without some form of reading material… and I recently downloaded the Kindle app on my phone so I’m all set, without the baggage!

    Can’t help with the Steiner questions. Sorry. My kids went to ‘run of the mill’ public schools.

  7. Oh, I am soooo thankful for books. They just take me away! I do love my E-reader for travelling but i definitely enjoy real books more! xx

  8. Thanks so much everyone for visiting The Mindful Mum! I am off to check out all your blogs now 🙂

  9. I love books and remember my mum teaching me to read before I started school. I cannot grasp leaving that aspect of a child’s learning until they are eight. Books open up a whole new universe. But on the other hand I do believe that it will not disadvantage them in any way. Just is a concept that is a bit alien to me lol Thank you for visiting my blog A Welcoming Hearth! I am now a follower of yours.

    1. Yes, it is an alien concept to me too, very much so. My daughter is only little yet though so there is time to educate myself so that if / when we decide to send her there, I’ll be completely confident that it is the right path to take. I sense interesting times ahead if we do go Steiner, for sure. It’s a whole new universe all of its own 😉
      Thanks for visiting. I’ve known your blog for a while. I like! Looking forward to seeing you around on Twitter too!
      But now…to bed – with a good book 🙂

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

