Grateful for…the small things

The other day we took a family walk by the ocean. I had my calorie counter app on, so when we reached the  playpark I took my mobile phone out to end my “workout”. I’d set up a blanket on the grass and my daughter was happily playing, while my husband watched her. More often than not, I’d take the opportunity to have a quick look at Facebook, but this time I resisted. Instead, I lay back on the blanket and stared up through the vast, beautiful branches of a tree. For a moment I thought about taking a photo but that would have defeated the object a little! Instead, I focussed my listening. I could hear the ocean, and so many birds singing, and the wind, and children playing. I listened to my breathing. I felt peaceful and content. Today as well, I’m grateful for the small things.

If you trust in Nature, in the small Things that hardly anyone sees and that can so suddenly become huge, immeasurable; if you have this love for what is humble and try very simply, as someone who serves, to win the confidence of what seems poor, then everything will become easier for you.

~Rainer Maria Rilke~

This post is part of the 52 Weeks of Grateful link-up hosted by Maxabella Loves 

8 responses

  1. Oh that’s beautiful! And fitting too – I was sitting outside with my babies watching the tree branches and leaves sway in the wind today and wondering why I don’t do this more often. So calming. Nature really is good at slowing us down. I need to resist grabbing for the phone to photo capture the moment (before I fully experience it) too 🙂 Elisa xx

    1. Hi Elisa, yeah I’m trying to detach myself from the camera more and just enjoy the family days without feeling the need to zoom & click quite so often. Curse of the digital age – we can take 100s and not worry about running out of film & taking rubbish shots! It’s time consuming taking so many especially just to leave the majortity on the laptop never to be seen again, much better imo to focus a little more on just appreciating the precious moments 🙂

  2. The small things, they’re not little.

    Gorgeous post! xx

    1. Hi Kymmie, thanks! Sorry it took me a while to respond, for some reason your comment went into my spam folder. Naughty spam detector! Go to your room!!
      Sorry. Bit tired today 😉 Thanks for visiting The Mindful Mum 🙂

  3. Yes we need to enjoy the moment as it was intended don’t we. Good for you. It is those small things that mean the most. They create a memory, although a small one, an important one for the soul.

    1. Totally! And the soul passes it all on to the spirit…each little thing, whether we actively remember it or not, and it all matters because every single one of our experiences either nurtures or scars our spirit in this life and the next…if you’re into that kind of thing anyway. I’m kind of leaning that way 🙂

  4. When I’m out and about at the park or in the bush, I never take my phone with me. There is too much to miss out on. x

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

