My Most Important Job in the World

I read an interesting article today that really resonated with me. Apparently, “according to the Prime Minister of Denmark, I am actually wasting my education and career by choosing to be a stay-at-home mum”.  I am a feminist and it makes me crazy that anyone should judge me or think I’m wasting my brain by being a long term stay at home mum. Feminism is about equality and CHOICE. This is what I CHOOSE. I can understand people with no children thinking it’s a waste, I have to confess I thought the same before I became a mother, and to my shame I did judge the SAHMs. I just didn’t get it. But I don’t understand why mothers must judge each other in the way they so often do.

Last week someone asked me what I do. I said, I’m a mum. And they replied, yeah, but what do you do?? *sigh* It’s a matter of opinion as to whether being a SAHM is the most important job in the world – many clearly think it ranks pretty low – but it is MY most important job in the world. I’m not wasting my education, or my career (which I didn’t enjoy anyway). My education and career path are what got me to where I am today! I love my new job. I’m an intelligent, very well-educated SAHM who has most certainly not lost all her brain cells. Despite any appearance to the contrary on occasion 😉

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

