What is life without cake?

I have a bit of a sweet tooth sugar addiction (let’s be honest). I haven’t had a drink in almost a decade, I haven’t done any recreational drugs in almost two, and I quit smoking about 7 years ago, so cake is my only remaining vice and I refuse to let it go! You have to have something, right? (Yes I know there’s that other thing but I’m almost 8 months pregnant and sadly for my beloved, I’m not one of those pregnant woman, alas!). I did do a 21 day challenge a couple of months ago and ate no sugary treats whatsoever for the whole 3 weeks. It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be and I even survived two children’s birthday parties. But it didn’t last long after that. My skin broke out again immediately after eating a pavola on a mums night out in the days following the end of the challenge. A telling sign that sugar is BAD, there is no doubt about it, both inside and out. And it is in everything these days.

In my opinion, however, a life with absolutely no cake in it is no life at all! Moderation is key (well, I try…). Miss M woke up at 4.30am today and although my other half got up with her and I got the lie in after the usual (lovely)  20 minutes or so of special mummy cuddles, I was still up by 6.30am , and dealing with an energetic yet overtired toddler is not fun. Playdate couldn’t make it after all and I didn’t have the energy to run around anywhere, to be honest, yesterday was pretty full on. By 10.30am I started to feel pretty darn grumpy, resentful, all those other negative emotions that do nobody any good whatsoever. And then – light bulb moment! Blueberry muffins!! Homebaked so I know what’s in them, and blueberries are a superfood, so really they are healthy in so many ways 🙂 On with the telly as distraction (today clearly not a day where I have the patience to bake with my little munchkin) and in no time at all I had a large mug of steaming hot English Breakfast tea and a yummy muffin (or 2) to look forward to. Life was looking up! Miss M is now asleep and My Time is now. It’s the little things, right? Nom nom!

Blogtoberfest 2012, 4/31

4 responses

  1. Hahaha you made me laugh out loud! Toddler asleep, feet up, read blog. Life is good, sometimes 😉
    Thank you for sharing your life with us. And for being so honest about it.
    I wish you the best of luck for your pregnancy and I sure hope you’ll keep finding the time to write. It keeps us -mothers of toddlers- sane.

    1. Hi Nancy, thank you for your kind wishes! I just checked out your blog but I’m afraid my Dutch is not so hot, sorry – but, as a fellow mother of a toddler, I wish you much strength and much joy 🙂

  2. Oh, I remember those times well! Good thing is the kids learn to sense our moods as they grow up and they know how to keep out of the way safely when a less than stellar one is coming. 😉
    Thanks for visiting and commenting at Blogtoberfest today!

    1. Lol I wonder how many years before both mine can recognise when mum is best left alone for 10 minutes? That’s all I ask really, you’d not think 10 minutes would be so precious…until you’re a mum 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

