Listen earnestly…

A friend shared this quote today and it really resonated with me. In the few days since we ditched the telly I am already relishing the extra one on one time I’m spending with my daughter. Living without Sesame Street, Playschool et al is actually nowhere near as hard as I thought it would be. Late afternoons are a little tough but really no tougher than when we had the TV as both of us seem to be a lot more well-disposed throughout the whole day in general, so by the time it gets to late afternoon I’m not as frazzled. We are doing our usual activities and when we’re home, we’re just pottering about together – drawing, play doh, puzzles, reading, make believe…Plus I’m still getting a few chores done and I’m even getting the odd 15 minutes to sit down with a book while she plays by herself?! Still early days of course, but so far, so good. In all honesty, I’m quite shocked!

Blogtoberfest 2012, 11/31

8 responses

  1. Good for you for getting rid of the the television. We have come to rely on it and ridding ourselves of it would be very hard. We do observe the Sabbath and for that day the tv is off. The kids adjust but occasionally grumble.

    1. Pam @TheMindfulMum | Reply

      Hi Larry, it’s not as hard as I thought it would be thus far, but time will tell and we will have a new baby here in 6 weeks so not sure how that will affect things! Being realistic I guess is what I’m saying, and I recognise it’s not for everybody. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      1. My pleasure.
        Good luck with the new baby. May he/she be healthy and bring much joy to your family.

  2. I watched a lot of tv as a kid, lived two years without it in my mid twenties and now I watch a bit of science/history shows with my teens. We have adapted our watching to our needs/likes along the years.

    1. Hi Paula yeah I think that’s key – adapting to how things change over time for the family. Certainly as Miss M gets older we will introduce family movie night and so on, and when they are at school there will be useful things for them to watch. I imagine we’ll have several rethinks about how we manage “screen time” as the years go by. Right now I guess I just feel we have no “need” for it and we’re seeing how we go – an experiment 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing this quote, Pam. Been enjoying your blog and love some the little things you’ve been sharing that really resonate with me. My son’s vocab is still growing (at 20 months) but he always has plenty of ‘stories’ to tell. I nod along and listen seriously to every one of them even though I may not understand most of it just yet. So this quote is something nice to fall back onto as a reminder remain an earnest listener to everything my child tells me

    1. I’m glad you like it, Serene. Thanks for stopping by. Am just back from short hols and about to reply to your email 🙂

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

