Must not put resentment in the crudités!

Gosh but I awoke this morning in foul temper! I’ve not slept well the last couple of nights which is totally par for the course at going on 35 weeks pregnant, and I really can’t complain as thus far I have had such an easy ride. But, being both heavily pregnant and human, I have this morning perhaps complained a tad, or rather, seethed with resentment at my husband, for want of a better option. How dare he be able to sleep soundly, how dare he not be able to physically bear a child and thus share the load!! So very not nice, I know. And okay possibly just a little bit unreasonable.

I woke up at 4.45am and couldn’t get back to sleep, on a day when Miss M, miracle of miracles, was still fast asleep at gone six. Why? Why?? My beloved is fortunate that he has not (thus far) suggested to me that this is nature’s way of preparing me for the new baby. He did himself no favours, however, by later getting up and switching on the Skype while I was in the open plan kitchen, thus exposing me to our entire German family at a wedding reception, unwashed and dressed as I was in hot fushia elasticated sleeping shorts and an over-sized mens racerback top stretched over (most of) my bump and flashing my boobs. Having insisted that he cover the camera so that I could get past and change, I then returned to the kitchen and started furiously chopping vegetables for this afternoon’s barbie with friends. Which was actually quite therapeutic, and recognising that it would be nicer to fill the crudités with love rather than resentment, I calmed down (a bit).

Matrimonial bliss is not yet quite restored, but I am now home alone as they are off to the playpark and then the supermarket. Being home alone is nice and helpful when one is not feeling at one’s best. I am going to have a large mug of decaff and two thick slices of raisin toast. With real butter, and a real, grown-up book! After which I will meditate for five minutes…and hopefully, inner peace will be restored. Namaste!

Blogtoberfest 2012, 21/31

4 responses

  1. Mighty smarty of Hubby to leave you in peace today after your rough start to the day.
    Sure don’t miss that uncomfortable lack of sleep. At least when you are waking to a baby you aren’t as uncomfortable, a much better reason I think 😉

    1. This is true 🙂 Last night I kicked everyone out of bed into the spare room and I SLEPT wonderfully for first time in a week, no aches or waking. Kinda missed my lovlies….kinda didn’t lol – sometimes it has to be done, big mama needs her physical space at night at this point 🙂 X

  2. That is one my favourite blogpost titles yet! Poor you, though, I hope that the meditation, tea and toast all worked to help you relax, and you can enjoy being with the other two parts (quarters, now!) of the family when they return. If you want to see an admittedly dreadfully cheesy but still good film about putting your feelings into the food you make, see if you can track down “Simply Irresistible” with Sarah Michelle Gellar (be warned: if contains a near inexplicable magical crab of the seafood variety).

    1. Will bear that one in mind hun thanks 🙂 Meditation bit hit and miss but persevering! Tea and raisin toast always help though 🙂 xx

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

