Smile, breathe…

I came across this quote by Vietnamese Buddhist monk Thich Nhat Hanh in my newsfeed this morning (thank you, Writing Our Way Home). Wise words that gave me a very welcome focus when I woke up wondering how I was going to get through the day. I’m tired. But today is our family’s Friday, so come 5.30pm our weekend will begin when my husband gets home from work. He’ll share the load, we’ll chill, and come Tuesday (our Monday) I hope to be back on top.

I couldn’t help but smile when my daughter ran into the bedroom chattering away this morning after she had breakfast with her Papa. She is talking more every single day, it wonderful to see her grow. I’m finding it a little more difficult to breathe at present because Miss M’s little sister is also growing, and not leaving much space at 35 weeks for my internal organs! So yeah, I need to go slowly, and that’s ok.

We’ve been TV free for 3 weeks now and it’s going just fine. Yesterday my husband had to take Miss M to work for a few hours though so that I could rest, and that couldn’t happen again today, so I must confess that I succumbed to the wonders of ABC iView and allowed Miss M to watch Sesame Street on the computer so I could have a little much-needed down time. First screen time in 3 weeks, she was transfixed and thus…quiet! Given the last few very rough days, emotionally and physically, I’m not going to beat myself up about a lil bit of Elmo on a Saturday morning to keep me and this baby inside healthy and calm. Tomorrow is another day!

Blogtoberfest 2012, 27/31

4 responses

  1. Wow, good on you for making the no TV thing work, Jan!!
    I’m with you: nothing wrong with a little bit of Elmo = moment’s rest for a weary mama.
    xxx

      1. God, I’m such a nong! Where did I get Jan from?!
        I think I need another coffee.
        Forgive me Pam. xxx
        PS Meant to tell you: salad recipe is exactly as listed, which is why I like it. Just cut up a mango, an avocado, some fetta. Grate some lime zest and squeeze some lime juice on top, then a tiny drizzle of olive oil. Sprinkle on some pumpkin and/or sunflower seeds. Then try NOT to eat the whole lot. 🙂

        1. Haha no worries 🙂 God I would love a real coffee right now, tripe shot!! Thanks for recipe sounds fab will have to try xx

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

