Seeing beyond the Colorbond

I realised this morning that sometimes when I wake up and open the blinds, I only notice the hideous Colorbond fencing. Other mornings I see beyond the harsh, solid steel and take in the beautiful rainforest mountains in the distance, and the wide blue sky. It’s all a matter of perspective. This morning was a Colorbond morning. As I lay there feeling emotionally tired and overwhelmed before the day had even begun, I finally remembered that I have a choice. I can’t change our current circumstances but I can choose how I react to them. I can choose to try and see the rainforest and not the Colorbond.

I’m struggling a lot at the moment (I don’t mean to be mysterious, it’s just that our family business is not mine alone to share, it wouldn’t be right). There was a lot of conflict in our house last night and I realised this morning that the bigger picture is not going to change. We’re going to have to get through it as best we can. And I can choose how I do that. I can stop worrying and worrying  about what is going to happen in the weeks and months to come (and consequently not sleeping, which is not good for either me or the baby, especially so close to birth); and instead I can just stay in the present moment. Be Mindful. Make the most of the good little things, take it one day, if necessary one hour, at a time.

So, we went out very early to the markets, the three of us. There were delicious cupcakes and bratwurst for brunch, gorgeous fresh fruit and veg to bring home. We walked on the harbour wall, and then down on the beach. I watched my husband and Miss M chasing about in the shallows, and I focussed on that moment, and only that moment. The two people I love most in the world, laughing and smiling. I am making today a rainforest day, and when the Colorbond comes back I am going to take it one step at a time.

Blogtoberfest 2012, 28/31

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

