Meditation update: epic fail!

Toward the end of the week before last I challenged myself to manage just five minutes of meditation for seven consecutive days. Alas, it did not go well. Days 3 and 4 didn’t even actually happen and by Day 5 it was abundantly clear that independent meditation was not working for me. Or I was not working for it? It’s only five minutes, after all! Day 6 I managed but Day 7 was forgotten as Life got in the way once again. In my defence we have had a lot going on at home in addition to my being almost 36 weeks pregnant and in sole charge of a very energetic and willful toddler for the best part of most days. Perhaps this is not the best time to begin my meditative journey? And yet, I believe that the coming weeks and months are when I am most going to need it. Quandary!

I came across an interesting article today over at the Buddhism Now blog that has helped me to realise that meditating should not be about putting pressure on myself:

We have a tendency to think that meditation is something we’ve got to achieve, another thing we‘ve got to do and get, but Ajahn Chah would put it in terms of a holiday. Try that, try seeing meditation in that way.

The author also suggests that meditation can be seen:

 as awakened-ness and awareness, mindfulness, so that it actually is something you develop throughout your daily life in whatever way you have to live it, in whatever conditions.

This seems to be a much more constructive and indeed manageable approach to take. I’ve decided that I do really, really want to try to start meditating with at least some regularity and that guided meditation is perhaps a better idea for me right now. Some soothing music and a calming voice telling me what to do and when my time is up sounds appealing. I don’t have time to conduct extensive research at present so I am just going to go with what Spotify gives me and see how I go. Anything that gives me a little oasis of calm and helps me to recharge at least every day or two would be most welcome!

However, as suggested in the article mentioned above, I’m not going to put pressure on myself and have meditation on my list of Things To Do. I’ll do the guided stuff as and when I can, and then rest of the time I’ll just focus on being Mindful and practicing exercises I have read about that suggest that even small daily tasks such as doing the dishes can be approached as a minor meditation by just carefully noticing and appreciating every tiny little aspect of the process – the smell, sounds, feel of the action being undertaken. Manageable goals that will hopefully be enjoyable and beneficial. No pressure!

Blogtoberfest 2012, 30/31

2 responses

  1. Hi i have found Sarah Napthali’s books such as Buddhism for mothers so reassuring in trying to meditate while being Mum! A great bonus for me with a guided body scan or yoga nidra cd that i used when pregnant was that when my baby later heard it she would drift off to sleep! Cheers Sara

    1. Hi Sara, I need to re-read Buddhism For Mothers, thanks for the reminder! Also want to read the second book before I have 2 girls at school and it’s already time to read the third! Sarah Napthali is indeed great from what I have read so far. Off to Google yoga nidra – a sleeping baby in 3 weeks time sounds wonderful 🙂 Thanks for visiting The Mindful Mum!

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

