Grateful for….true friendships

We are a long, long way from Europe and family. Come April it will have been four years since we left and while we are not especially close to our families, we still love and miss them, would adore it if we were able to see them more often, or indeed at all – and at times like this, well, we need them. But we can’t have them. In all honesty I realise now that we didn’t really properly think through the whole concept of having children so far away from our home countries (Germany and UK). Our current issues have really brought it home to me that by emigrating  to the other side of the world, we have in reality sacrificed a great deal on behalf of our children before either of them were even conceived – the opportunity and security of getting to know their own extended family. That said, we know that this is the right place for us to be. We don’t regret our decisions. However, the difficulties of recent weeks have left me facing the reality that our little immigrant family is very vulnerable under certain circumstances, and it has been quite frightening and very stressful at times.

I have as a result of this realisation, and having been let down by someone I trusted, been forced to ask for practical help amongst my mummy circle. It wasn’t easy to do it. I explained the situation, told them I need them, that my little family badly needs help right now. Those I asked directly came through for me, straight away, and offering more than that for which I had asked. Others also proactively offered assistance to me and my husband and my girls. Immediately a huge weight was lifted from my shoulders. I slept well that night for the first time in almost two weeks.

The word grateful doesn’t cut it, how I feel on discovering that all I had to do was tell the truth and ask. This week I am so very, very grateful for the true friendships I have discovered here in a small town in Regional Australia. I can now breathe easy, knowing that our little family is not as vulnerable as I thought it was. And best of all I am now able to look forward to the birth of our second little girl without anxiety and with joy again. We found out yesterday that she will be born (via c-section) exactly three weeks today, almost to the hour!

This post is part of the 52 Weeks of Grateful link-up hosted by Maxabella Loves

4 responses

  1. Am totally sympathetic. My husband and I are both from Scotland and have no family here. It is a huge loss to have no family around. Friends need to become like family and that takes time. And perhaps never the same really. I think people LIKE to be asked for help. I know I do, and usually people are really keen to assist. Hope all goes well.

    1. Thank you for your wishes! I’m actually from Scotland too, orginally Stirling area but most of the 15 years before I left were spent in Glasgow. You are right that it takes time to build those kind of relationships, years in fact, and sadly it’s easy to make errors of judgement sometimes so I tend to proceed with a little more caution now. Yup, time…I have found that people do want to help though, and I feel much better just knowing we have options and that people care. Grateful, much!! Thanks for stopping by, hope all is well in your neck of the woods 🙂

  2. It can be SO hard to ask for help when we really need it, it seems the more you need help the harder it is. I can’t imagine moving to the other side of the world. You really need some support and friends right now, well done for reaching out.

  3. Love being on other side of world, just sometimes it has down side….mostly very much upside though…we’ll get there. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

