Mushrooms on toast, mindfully

Monday mornings are my time out, when my husband takes Miss M to swim school and I go into town and do a little shopping for things that are not groceries, visit the library when it’s not Storytime, and have a coffee alone, alone in the sunshine instead of at the playcentre. As a stay at home mum, I adore – and need – my Monday mornings!! It was also my intention to make some time to meditate today, but I was side-tracked by a pavement cafe special – hot drink and locally grown mushrooms on toast, $10. It was absolutely delicious and I consider the whole experience, which included a pot of green tea and a home-baked Anzac biscuit, to have been just as good for this very pregnant mama’s soul as meditating would have been. Certainly I mindfully savoured every morsel!

Today I also want to post another of Kirri White‘s fab Facebook shares. I came across this one yesterday and it really resonated with me. I don’t think I realised it was true for me on a personal level until I read it, and found that it actually made me feel quite emotional. I had a good long dark decade in my 20s and I think that it is only now in my late 30s that I can really reflect on and properly understand that what happened back then has made me what I am today, and that I am ok with that. I can now stand up and say this is who I am, warts and all, without shame or fear. It’s a great feeling.

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

