Grateful for…much, close to home

I find that, like me,  my “gratefuls” are increasingly closer to home as the birth of our baby girl becomes ever more imminent. Apart from sticking to Miss M’s regular outings (without which we would both go mad), and my joy and relief at the re-election of President Barack Obama, my world has shrunk to home and hearth. The kicks are everything, the regular tightenings are an obsession, my hospital bag is packed and I’m putting together a little bag for daughter #2 today. I’m organising and list-making and trying to rest as much as possible. Thirteen days to the scheduled caesarean date but I feel more and more sure that she’s not going to wait that long!!

In particular this week I am grateful:

* to my husband’s flexible workplace, which has allowed him to take Miss M to work on a few occasions to give me a break, and also cut his hours to mornings only in these final 10 days before his 4 weeks off begin – much needed respite for this big, tired mama;

* that the hospital is only 5 minutes down the road;

* that I got the lovely OB I wanted via public healthcare, that he’s on call the entire week before my scheduled c-section date, and that the OB I can’t stand is now off rotation until the end of the month (relief!);

* that I’ve found a sleep book I hadn’t yet tried, on my own bookshelf – Elizabeth Pantley’s The No Cry Sleep Solution – and so there is (I hope!!!!) some light at the end of the sleep deprivation tunnel for both daughter #1 and her parents;

* that my pregnancy continues to progress relatively easily with no major issues even though the minor ones are starting to get me down a lil bit at this point – I am, for example, sad that I had to (with great difficulty and much assistance) remove my wedding ring from my swollen fingers last night – but if that’s the most of my late pregnancy hassles apart from being so cumbersome and achy, then I’m grateful indeed!

This post is part of the 52 Weeks of Grateful link-up hosted by Maxabella Loves

4 responses

  1. Oh its sounds like you’re on the home stretch but its so tough that last bit. Sending you good thoughts! Cheers, Mez (via Maxabella)

    1. Thanks Mez. 11 days and counting 😉

  2. Just popping over from Maxabella’s 52 Weeks of Grateful and so happy I did.
    A birth is always such a miracle and I always love hearing about the arrival of new little people! You’ve just catapulted me right back to the wonder and impatience (and worries and niggling discomforts..) of the arrival of my own little ones! I hope it all goes well for you and congratulations on the imminent arrival of your new family member!

    1. Thanks very much Kirsty! 🙂

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

