#reverb12 Day 30: What can you celebrate NOW?

I found today’s #reverb12 prompt very emotive and it really made me think. I love it:

Often we see our life as a humongous journey, and we believe that not only have we not arrived at our far away desired destination, but we also think we must accomplish x, y, and z, before we can declare with satisfaction that we are THERE. 

For a moment, take a close look at who you are NOW. See what you can declare. 

Merge the past, present, and future into one big ARRIVAL. 

Describe joyously and in great celebration the BEING that you ARE. 

Ten years ago next week I was sitting in my first Alcoholics Anonymous meeting on a cold and dark midwinter night in a dismal church hall in Glasgow, Scotland. I had reached that rock bottom. Life was hell in the lead up to that first meeting, and hell for a good while after. I was alone and lonely, terrified, and cohabiting with an “out and functioning” alcoholic whom I loved very much but who had no intention of stopping drinking nor of supporting me in my efforts. Needless to say that relationship broke down a few months after I started attended AA meetings. Messy and heartbreaking.

It was a long road back to living.

Ten years later and I have been completely sober for a decade. I’m now living on the East Coast of Australia with a husband that has never seen me drink, and two gorgeous little daughters. Life is not perfect of course, nobody’s life is perfect. But it has a LOT of sunshine in it, on every level. I would not have this life, my husband, my children, had I not gone to that first AA meeting. I don’t go any more, haven’t for many years. But I’m never complacent. I’ll never drink again, and I no longer have any desire to do so.

I am a very, very strong woman. I should remember that more often!!

Look to this day:
For it is life, the very life of life.
In its brief course
Lie all the verities and realities of your existence.
The bliss of growth,
The glory of action,
The splendour of achievement
Are but experiences of time.

For yesterday is but a dream
And tomorrow is only a vision;
And today well-lived, makes
Yesterday a dream of happiness
And every tomorrow a vision of hope.
Look well therefore to this day;
Such is the salutation to the ever-new dawn!

~ Kalidasa, sanskrit dramatist

This post is part of #reverb12 hosted by Kat at I Saw You Dancing

4 responses

  1. love you always, congrats on 10 years babe xx

    1. Thanks sweets! Love you right back 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing your experience, strength and hope!

    1. Thank you for visiting The Mindful Mum! Huge congrats on your sobriety to date. Now following. I wish you all the very best on your continuing journey X

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

