A Grand Adventure

I love entering competitions,I love to travel and I love to blog, so when this travel-themed blog comp hosted by moneysupermarket.com  came up, I just couldn’t resist having a go!

What’s my dream grand adventure right now? I want to take my family backpacking in Southeast Asia! I’m Scottish and my German husband and I met while backpacking in Australia, where we now live. We have both travelled pretty extensively in Southeast Asia, individually and last time as a couple on our extended 7 month honeymoon in 2009, which included Burma, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos and Indonesia. We both LOVE travelling and we’re not about to let the fact that we now have two little daughters stop us! We know it won’t be quite the same as before – doubtless we shall face many new and exciting challenges as parents – but we also know for sure that it’s still possible, and we can’t wait to share the world with our girls. What better education can there be? And how much fun we are going to have!!

Thailand

Somewhere in Thailand, can’t remember where, so many beautiful beaches!

They are still very small and at the time we plan to go they will be just under 2 years and 4 years. We’ve never travelled overseas with little people before, so we want to keep it quite simple for this first trip. We’ll travel from Bangkok to Kuala Lumpur or vice versa. That will be our epic activity – the whole distance overland with two littlies, by as cheap a means as possible in order to stretch the cash as far as possible. We’ve always travelled budget and with the locals, and we know how to keep the costs down. There’ll be buses and overnight trains, which will be a great adventure for the girls. We’ll visit some islands for the scuba diving (special expenditure!) and snorkeling, and fit in heaps of beach time and temples. Best of all, the food!! I can’t wait to introduce my girls to the fabulous Thai and Malay street hawker tastes, sights and sounds – and of course that’s cheap food, which will help us to keep the budget in check. We’ll take in Melaka, Pengang, the Perhentian Islands (Besar is my favourite place in the world, can only hope it hasn’t changed too much!), Koh Phi Phi, Koh Pha-Ngam, crazy Bangkok…now I’m also thinking of Pai and Chiang Mai in Northern Thailand but that might have to wait until the next trip!

Perhentian Besar, Malaysia

Perhentian Besar, Malaysia

Just writing about it gets me so excited. Time for a little daydream with my old battered Southeast Asia on a Shoestring and a cuppa before the baby wakes up. I am so ready for our Grand Family Adventure. Bring it on!

6 responses

  1. That’s inspiring – I am wondering about how to juggle family with travel and am apprehensive about not being able to travel as much once I start a family. Would love to know how your great adventure turns out! Keep us posted.

    1. Hi Peggy, I don’t think it can ever be the same after you have kids – that sense of absolute freedom no longer exists, for me anyway – but I do as I said believe it’s still possibleto have great travel adventures! When Miss M was 8 months old we did a 10 day 1,000k road trip in through New England, NSW, which was fun and indeed an adventure for 2 new parents, and newcomers to the state. Thailand is my current dream though…as and when it happens I will update 🙂 Thanks for visiting The Mindful Mum!

  2. Oooh, I hope you definitely get to go. I think living/traveling in other countries vastly different from our own environments is so important. Admittedly I’m not a big traveler; I guess I never really made it a priority; but I lived in another country before and it’s eye opening. One of my regrets in college is not studying abroad. How much fun would that have been! Hope you guys get to go on your grand adventure 🙂

  3. Oh, that sounds fabulous. No idea when I’ll visit SE Asia, but maybe some day… In the meantime, I hope to make it to China sometime in the next 5 years.

    1. I’d also love to visit China…there is SO much world yet to see, I am not done yet!! 🙂

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

