I’m Grateful 3/52

Oh. My. Gaaaaaaawd. I wish I had sat down to write this post yesterday, it would have been a whole lot easier! Yesterday was a Good Day. It began with a  lovely friend coming to visit armed with chocolate profiteroles and blueberry custard danishes from the local artisan bakery (not just any old bakery, ya know!). What day wouldn’t go well with a start like that? Fabulous!

Today, however, is another story. Poo on the floor . Wee on the booster seat. The usual baby sick. Those things I can handle, yadda yadda. But throw in the HEAT!! The HUMIDITY!! And a very fractious toddler (arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh *silent mummy scream*) and I am struggling a little to be all bright and grateful for my lot right now. We should have tidied up the toys last night, folded a bit more washing. I hate waking up to chaos and try hard for that not to happen, it just sets me up all wrong. I didn’t manage to juice until late morning either, and I think that had an impact. Body craving good stuff and not happy with just a cup of hot water with lemon and a slice of marmite on toast until 11am. Silly.

So. About all I can do at this moment is sit in the moment and try to be Mindful through gritted teeth. In this very moment, nobody is screaming. I feel a nice breeze at last. And, breeeeeeeathe….

I am thinking back to my first grateful post of this year and counting a few of the thousands of things that have actually gone right today…OK, could be worse!

I am grateful for Tractor Ted and to my Auntie in Aberdeen, Scotland, for sending it to Miss M, who is (I hope not suspiciously) quietly watching it as I type. We are still TV free (as in, it’s not plugged into the aerial). It’s been months now and I don’t miss it at all, although I do still get my fix of occasional docos and British crime dramas on ABC iView. But show me a mum that wouldn’t collapse in a hopeless, sobbing heap now and then if it wasn’t for the existence of some nice DVDs or In the Night Garden on the iViewer…if you are She, please tell me how!!

I’m grateful that my husband is finishing work 45 minutes early this evening. Those 45 minutes may be the difference between this mama’s thread snapping and (relative) sanity.

And that’s about all I can manage for gratefuls this afternoon!

Ommmmmmmmmmmm….

I’m linking in with 52 Weeks of Grateful hosted by Maxabella

9 responses

  1. homelifesimplified | Reply

    big hugs! i remember the baby days – that was when my oldest started watching lots of DVDs lol – we do what we have to in order to stay sane (and safe) – thank goodness for 45 minutes early!!! hope tomorrow is a great day

    1. Thanks Debra! This morning is cooler, grey and rainy. OH has taken Miss M out for a bit. Miss A is sleeping. This is a very good start 🙂

  2. Every time I read your posts it brings back wonderful memories – so tiring at the time, but so cherished now. Be with it, be in it, your mindfulness is beautiful to behold.

    1. Aw lovely comment, thank you. Can assure you there are also many ugly moments but I guess, well, that’s life 😉 x

  3. Oh Pam, I remember when I thought those days would never end. And I don’t know many mums who could honestly say they don’t rely on some screen time 🙂
    I’m so glad I found your blog, and have been catching up, nodding along as I go xx

    1. I am happy to have found yours too Lisa. Love the recent Zen quotes. “Do not follow the ideas of others, but learn to listen to the voice within yourself” – I have found that this is the path I’m taking with my second baby. It is much more relaxing than reading all those books and getting maddened by conflicting advice! While of course I still ask for, and share, tips and support with my mums group, I have finally learned to trust my mummy instincts 🙂

  4. Oh been here! Hope today is 1000 times better. I also don’t like to wake up to chaos! Finding grateful in a crazy day is pretty awesome though xx

    1. Thanks Elisa, the days have indeed got better since!
      I am so glad I found 52 weeks last year – being prompted into a grateful perspective is so helpful and healthy, and linking in regularly as I plan to all through this year is already benefitting me.
      I also didn’t think I’d be able to / want to blog much at all once the baby arrived but I’ve found I do want to and I can make the time, even if it’s just in snatches. Seems to go some way to keeping me just on the right side of sane! Plus I’m loving the connections I’m making, finding so much food for thought and inspiration in the blogging community 🙂 x

Thank you for commenting! I will reply very soon :-)

